Break Time..

Standard

Let’s see.. The dishes are in the dishwasher, the pots and pans soaking. The counters are clean. The HUGE mountain of laundry is down in the basement where it should be. Dinner is tentatively planned… I think I have earned a coffee break!

The laundry pile only took 8 trips to get it all down the stairs.. that is how big it was! The library has the books I need for school next week on it’s way to the library branch here. I am using Five In A Row this year for our core curriculum and Horizons Math. The first week will be the younger kids reading Madeleine, and the older three starting The Boxcar Children. Five In A Row teaches, history, science, geography, and art through classic books, both Fiction and Non-Fiction. I am looking forward to the week we have them all home. Three are at Grandma and Grandpa’s this week and two will go next week. But the week they are all home, i have planned the reading of Night Of the Moonjellies, followed by a trip to the Oregon Coast Aquarium, where we are members. Because it was cheaper to get a one year membership for our entire family plus two guests whenever we want, then it was to visit once! That tells you something about how large our family is LOL!

A friend recently sent me a couple of books by Mary Osten. Her book, A Sane Woman’s Guide To Raising A Large Family has tons of great ideas and info on things like organizing, keeping it all together. Then her cookbook, Family Feasts for $75 A Week has over 200 budget friendly and DELICIOUS recipes. My family has loved every one that I have made so far. I love that the meals are easy and quick to prepare, bursting with flavor but pocketbook friendly.

Ok, back to cleaning.. still have a bathroom, office, and living room to pick up then vacuuming and mopping! I think I will get the lasagna together today, put it in the fridge, then tomorrow I just have to pull it out and bake it! :o)

About misadventuresofafamilyof8

I am a SAHM of 6 kids, and I homeschool, cloth diaper, wear my toddler, used to breastfeed, cook from scratch, not so crunchy mama. Hubs is a chef, and loves to cook. We go to church when we can, and I love to learn new things about how to be a better wife and mother.

Comments are closed.