Growing Pains…

Standard

Kids grow up. It’s not a fair part of life. And it is a part of life I am struggling with today. My baby just informed me she wanted a “nack”. And then to make sure I knew what she meant she rubbed her tummy, which is the sign language sign we have been working on for “hungry.” My 5 year has decided he needs to wear a button up shirt, tucked into his pants, and a TYE of all things!! While my 6 year old has decided he is old enough to haul the giant trash can out to the road for trash pick up day! All this is making me feel like I need to grab and hug and hold my “babies” before they can’t be held and hugged anymore!! And on the other hand to make sure I am doing my job to make sure they are ready to handle the struggles and challenges of “growing up” today. When to say, “no”, when to be cautious, when to jump into life at full speed. How to rely and lean on the only being that can protect them and guide them better then we can. God. How to take the time to spend time with Him and listen to Him, and learn from Him, and to be loved by Him. I have to remember to stop each day and ask myself, Am I training my child in the way he/she should go, so that he/she will not depart from that way? And if not what do I need to change so that they are going on that path?

In the meantime.. I have to go because my “big girl” is getting beat up by a plastic vacuum! :o)

About misadventuresofafamilyof8

I am a SAHM of 6 kids, and I homeschool, cloth diaper, wear my toddler, used to breastfeed, cook from scratch, not so crunchy mama. Hubs is a chef, and loves to cook. We go to church when we can, and I love to learn new things about how to be a better wife and mother.

Comments are closed.