7 Kids, Myself and the Oregon Coast Aquarium

Standard

Yesterday I had the bright idea to take my 6 kids, plus the girl I babysit to Newport to visit the Oregon Coast Aquarium. While this would usually be a great idea.. there was one drawback. It was just ME and 7 of  them! My hubby was at work.That is 6 kids that have to go potty, two minutes after we drive through the town with the clean gas station bathrooms… one baby that just does NOT want to be in her car seat this day, and one mom that simply did not have enough coffee to start out with.  I begin my morning, by removing my camera battery to charge it so I could get lots of great photos. I made a big pot of oatmeal so I wouldn’t hear any “I am hungries” on the way. And a big pot of coffee for me! I forgot the camera, after charging it and downloading the pictures that were already on it, so it would be all ready to go. Then halfway there two kids were complaining about how hungry they were. In the middle of all the rushing to pack diapers and lunches, I didn’t make sure they actually ATE!  And my first big drink of my coffee brought a very unpleasant surprise.. no sugar and no creamer.. which for those that know me, know those are a HUGE must in my cuppa joe.  Then we get to the bank to cash the check I have that is going to pay for our gas and snacks.. and guess what? They don’t open until 10, and it’s only 9:30. Thankfully, the friend I babysit for works there, one text message and I was in the drive thru getting my money and a handful of neat little toys for the kids to fight over play with on the car ride.

 When we got there I unloaded the kids into the little picnic area, even though it was raining, it is covered and it was very warm. Halfway through lunch, I have to go to the bathroom.. and not the hurry up kids and finish eating so we can get going kind, but they YOU ARE DONE EATING NOW, MAMA”S GOT TO GO!! kind. Maybe a little too much TMI, but for those of you that have been there, the picnic area is a LOOONG way from the entrance, and you have to stand in line to get in, and then if your lucky there won’t be a line to the restrooms too. SO we rushed to put the lunch boxes back in the car, then ran for the front entrance.. thankfully, no one was in the memership line. But I left three kids WAY back down the trail… oops.. I left my oldest waiting for them, and dragged the others to the bathroom.

Then we proceeded to go check out all the really cool animals and water creatures… the snakes were HUGE, and we got to see the anaconda stretch out in it’s tank. Thankfully the exhibit with the large spiders was no longer there. We saw snapping alligator turtles and crabs bigger then most of my children. The jellyfish must of not been happy, or it was nap time. None of them were moving.  We headed out to outside, and saw the seals playing with each other. Giving kisses and rough housing around. One sea lion was very shy and was hiding in a little hole under water. She would look at us through the glass then quickly look away. It was really cute. We walked down to the shark exhibit, which is a tunnel that runs under the shark tanks. In the first tank there were scuba divers and that was pretty neat. They were cleaning the walls. We reached the shark tank to discover it PACKED with people.. and it took me a few minutes to realize why. We were just in time for feeding!! It was pretty cool to see the sharks fight over and rip apart the fish. And watching the schools of fish they drop in for the other fish to eat, swim together and away and run for their lives. My youngest was just amazed. There are windows in the floor so you can watch the fish swim under neath, and she laid on the floor looking down saying OOOOHHHHH, WHEEEEEEE, AHHHHHHHH the entire time, and never once looked up!

We headed home, picture less. But happy!! In the car I let them finish the lunches I rushed them through. Which kept them from saying they were hungry all the way home :o) I stopped for COFFEE!! And a round of hot chocolates. We only had to stop once for the bathroom. And it wasn’t for me! We picked up our Farm Co-op veggies on the way and came home in time to make Chicken Florentine Lasagna, with a fresh tossed salad, with fresh organic lettuce, carrots, zucchini, broccoli, bell peppers and tomatoes. And I had all 7 children when I got back, so all in all it was a fun, if interesting, trip!

About misadventuresofafamilyof8

I am a SAHM of 6 kids, and I homeschool, cloth diaper, wear my toddler, used to breastfeed, cook from scratch, not so crunchy mama. Hubs is a chef, and loves to cook. We go to church when we can, and I love to learn new things about how to be a better wife and mother.

3 responses

  1. Thanks for joining us on Surfin' Saturdays and posting the button on your sidebar! Following you back! Beth @ Two Monkeys & a Washtub