Thinkin Outta The Box Tuesdays #2

Standard

 “Mom’s Chinese Creation”

Last night I thought, pasta sounds really good. So I proceeded to pull out some bacon, onions, garlic, tomatoes and spaghetti noodles. I cut the bacon up into 1 inch slices, then minced the garlic, and cut the onion in half then sliced it thinly. My 6 year old still hasn’t figured out that red onions are indeed onions, so I didn’t need to puree these ones. :o)

I put the bacon and onions into a pan, then kicked a box on the floor out of the way. Then stopped to peer into the box. What is that?! Ahhh, the beets from the farm.. and look the greens are all wilted! They need to be used NOW! So I pulled them out, chopped off the greens, tossed the beets into the fridge. And rinsed then chopped the greens, and tossed them into the pan with the onions and bacon. Then I remembered oh yea, there is a bell pepper in the fridge. That really needs to be used to! So I grabbed it and chopped it, and threw it in to. Now  I am looking at this creation and thinking, OH MY! What have I done?! No one is going to eat this! It’s almost 7 PM, and I am going to have to start all over again. Well, let’s keep going and see what happens. I added the garlic, a little salt and pepper, a dash of soy sauce. I put the tomatoes back, because they just didn’t sound good in whatever I was making. And let it simmer while the pasta cooked. I drained the pasta, toseds some butter on. Tossed some pasta on some plates, topped it with “MOM’S Radical Chinese Creation” :o), and told everyone to come eat! And don’t ask what it is, just eat it! So my husband warily comes into the kitchen, sniffs at his plate and says, “Hmmm”. Not a good sign. That’s it, I said to myself. I completely blew dinner. I don’t even know what I just made…

Then he takes a bite, looks at me and says, “Wow this is actually good.”

ACTUALLY!! He says it like he is surprised I made something that tastes good. Amazing how my attitude changes from NO way will anyone eat this, to HOW dare they think it can’t be good, right?!

But anyway, I still am not sure WHAT it was.. some sort of stir fry? But it was “actually” good. And everyone cleaned their plates. :o)

About misadventuresofafamilyof8

I am a SAHM of 6 kids, and I homeschool, cloth diaper, wear my toddler, used to breastfeed, cook from scratch, not so crunchy mama. Hubs is a chef, and loves to cook. We go to church when we can, and I love to learn new things about how to be a better wife and mother.

Comments are closed.