Fall Is In The Air…

Standard

I am looking out my window this morning, and I see that the leaves are beginning to change.
They are a brownish yellow mixed with green color. Some are even starting to fall. There is a nip in the air and the kids are starting to dig out warmer blankets and clothes. Last night our heaters came on for the first time.  I feel like making soup, and I have dug out the fall decorations. Last night I made a big pot of Green Chili Stew and the crock pot is full of Three Bean Southwestern Chili for tonight. 
  I am looking forward to buying squash, and root veggies for roasting again.  Spending days bundled up with the kids reading books and drinking hot chocolate… well they drink hot chocolate and I drink Mochas.. :o) Taking walks to collect leaves that have fallen.


This is the first time in 6 years that we have lived inland enough to see the trees change. On the coast, they just seem to fall off overnight, with no gradual changing. Growing up we lived in the Applegate Valley and every year was a magical time of seeing the beautiful colors. I never realized how much I missed that until we moved here, and I first noticed the leaves starting to change and I became excited. I have been hoping for a nice sunny day so I can go out and take pictures.. and someday I will figure out how to put pictures in my blog posts so you can all see them too! 


I am wondering how everyone else begins fall? Do you enjoy this time of year? Dread the cold coming? Start baking? Do you do special things with your kids? Let me know!

About misadventuresofafamilyof8

I am a SAHM of 6 kids, and I homeschool, cloth diaper, wear my toddler, used to breastfeed, cook from scratch, not so crunchy mama. Hubs is a chef, and loves to cook. We go to church when we can, and I love to learn new things about how to be a better wife and mother.

2 responses

  1. Hi Kim, thanks for stopping by! We actually have 6 kids, then hubby and I make 8… it gets pretty hectic and crazy around here.. but we love it! Sometimes I feel like I am loosing my mind.. then someone smiles at me, or hugs me, and it makes it all worth the craziness!