Thinkin Outta The Box Tuesdays #4

Standard

I completely forgot to post Thinkin’ Outta The Box Tuesdays the last couple of weeks! I am so very sorry! This week I made Roasted Chicken Thighs, with Acorn Squash, and Texmati Rice…

For the chicken, I took some thighs, put them in a casserole dish, drizzled some olive oil over the top, then sprinkled some Tone’s Natural Rosemary Garlic seasoning I found at our local Grocery Outlet ALL over the top. Half way through roasting, I flipped the chicken and sprinkled more on that side too.

I split the Acorn squash in half, scooped out the seeds, and placed them upside down in another casserole dish, I added about an inch of water. I covered both the squash and the chicken with foil and put them in a 375* oven for an  hour. Half way through that I flipped the chicken. I removed the foil from both dishes, then careful turned the squash. I placed 2 TBS butter in the center, and filled the center with brown sugar. The chicken and the squash went back in for 15 more minutes to caramelize the butter and sugar and brown the chicken.

Then I put 3 cups of chicken broth in a pan that has a good lid. I added 2 cups of Texmati rice, which is several kinds of rice mixed together, and is beautiful when cooked. It has a distinctive nutty flavor that I love. And the white rice hubby loves. So it’s a compromise in our house. But not one we have often, it is pretty expensive! I added 2 TBS butter, and brought it all to a boil, then lowered the heat to a simmer, put on the lid and let the rice steam while the rest of meal browned and caramelized.

It is a yummy, fragrant meal. Everyone in my family loves it. And it is pretty easy to make on a day you have the time to let it cook. It only took me about 15 minutes to put it all together but almost an hour and half of cooking time. I hope you try it yourself!! I was wondering if ya’ll would like me to post pictures of my Outta the Box Meals? Or if you just like to let your imagination run?! Let me know!

Be Blessed..
~Katie

About misadventuresofafamilyof8

I am a SAHM of 6 kids, and I homeschool, cloth diaper, wear my toddler, used to breastfeed, cook from scratch, not so crunchy mama. Hubs is a chef, and loves to cook. We go to church when we can, and I love to learn new things about how to be a better wife and mother.

Comments are closed.