Thinkin Outta The Box Tuesdays #5

Standard

I did it again.. I totally forgot Tuesday’s Post!! So sorry!! I even planned a meal all around posting, then forgot to post it! Silly me…

This week’s Outta The Box meal was Chicken Green Curry… If you like Thai food you’ll love this, and it’s so easy!!

You will need 2-3 lbs of cut up chicken. Pork works too, and so does lamb! I found that red curry works better with lamb though. You will also need an onion, a small bag of frozen peas, a bag of frozen broccoli florets, 2 cans of coconut milk, and curry paste and rice. If you can’t find paste, then powder works too.

Put 3 cups of water (chicken broth) in a pan that has a good sealing lid. Bring to a boil. Add 1 1/2 cups of rice, bring to a simmer and cover. Turn heat down to low for 15-20 minutes, until the liquid is gone and rice is fluffy. Remove from heat, leave covered until curry is done.

Meanwhile, peel the onion and cut it in half. Slice it thinly or dice it, whichever way you like. I find my 6 yr old who doesn’t like onions, doesn’t know onions are onions when they are diced. :o) Saute the onion with a little oil in a stock pot. Add the curry, either paste or powder. Stir until it’s blended in with the onions. 1 Tbs of curry is plenty for my wimpy kids.. I can say that.. I am from New Mexico, and my kids think pepper is hot. Sad, isn’t it?:o)  Then add the chicken. Stir once in a while until browned. Open the coconut milk and pour over the chicken. Bring to a simmer and let simmer 5-10 minutes. Then add peas and broccoli, and simmer until broccoli is heated through. It took almost ten minutes for me.  Serve curry over rice, topped with sour cream, and additional peas if you like.Enjoy!

Be Blessed..
~Katie

About misadventuresofafamilyof8

I am a SAHM of 6 kids, and I homeschool, cloth diaper, wear my toddler, used to breastfeed, cook from scratch, not so crunchy mama. Hubs is a chef, and loves to cook. We go to church when we can, and I love to learn new things about how to be a better wife and mother.

3 responses

  1. I know, they use Cream of Mushroom soup 🙂 I think you should put a tab at the top of your blog for recipes and links to them, I had a hard time finding them when I want them 🙂