How Do You Do It All?

Standard

 Besides, “Boy don’t you have your hands full?!”, or “Don’t you know how that happens?”, or my personal favorite, “Don’t you have a TV?”, “How do you do it ALL?!” is the question that is most asked of me, just about every time we leave the house, or lately through emails, or messages! And to be honest, I couldn’t really tell you HOW I do it, nor could I really tell what ALL is? What is ALL? And does anyone do it ALL? How do you do it ALL?

I will try to answer some of that, because it comes up more and more lately!

Is my laundry done? No, it never is.. I couldn’t tell you the last time there was not a pile of laundry on my couch waiting to be folded (Oh wait!! There isn’t one now! But that is only because we just sold a couch so we could get another one that fits a little better in our weird shaped living room! Now all those clothes are on  hubby’s chair, or in laundry baskets on the floor. Don’t worry mom and dad we sold the little couch, not the big one, you still have a place to sleep!) Now where was I? Oh yeah, I couldn’t tell you the last time there was not a pile of laundry waiting to be washed in the bathrooms or in front of the washer. I can tell you, that it no longer bothers me! It used to drive me crazy that the laundry was never finished. But it would take about my entire day to finish the laundry, and I just don’t have an entire day. I do love that my kids are getting to the age, where, if they want something clean, they will go wash it themselves! Then they put the rest of the clothes in the pile on the couch, and walk away with only that one object they wanted folded neatly.. .. but that is another story!

Are my dishes ever done? Maybe once a week. There is a pan sitting on my counter right now that has been there for over a week, and the other pots and pans have been soaking now for about 8 hours.. I shouldn’t have to scrub them at all! The regular dishes do get washed every day, as we have a dishwasher, and it’s the kids chore to load and unload it. But I rarely have time to sit and scrub pots and pans.. so I usually wash what I need, and leave the rest until 1. they start to smell so bad I have to wash them, or 2. my mom is coming to visit :o) And I am ok with that. The table, counters, sinks, and stove get cleaned several times a day, and the floor swept, so my kitchen is clean, there is just that pile of pots and pans there taking up space..

Do I ever get time for me? Well I am here right now! There are no kids, they are all playing video games or finishing chores or schoolwork. I do occasionally stay up late to read a book that I want to finish. Or play flash giveaway’s on FaceBook.. but other then that.. my kids are ME.. time without them is time without part of ME..

Is any part of my house ever clean.. YES! For about five seconds before TOTZILLA rolls through and destroys whatever just got accomplished..

Do I ever put a child down for a nap, and then panic because I can’t find them, forgetting that I just put them to bed! YES!! :o) Do I once in awhile loose a child at the grocery store, and have to wonder when WAS the last time I saw them and what WERE they wearing? Just recently actually.. But it turned out well, and I discovered that my children think for themselves.. I can’t find mom.. she must be at the coffee shop!

Do I ever feel like I have completely lost my mind and I am about to go insane?? Daily! Don’t you?

Do I love my life, and wouldn’t take it any other way? YEP!

Do I know yet, what ALL is?? I have no idea! But I hope I never have to do it! 

Be Blessed..
~Katie

About misadventuresofafamilyof8

I am a SAHM of 6 kids, and I homeschool, cloth diaper, wear my toddler, used to breastfeed, cook from scratch, not so crunchy mama. Hubs is a chef, and loves to cook. We go to church when we can, and I love to learn new things about how to be a better wife and mother.

2 responses

  1. First off, love the Totzilla comment. I call my 2 year old the toddler tornado but totzilla is so much easier to say and still gets the same picture across. I have 5 kiddos aged 9, 7, 5, 2 and 1 (dec 4th) and ALL will never be accomplished. My children aren't a task to be completed. They will continue to grow, learn, and make messes. My house will never be clean as long as they are here. The dishes will never all be done as long as they need fed. It will be a sad day when my house is clean, the dishes done and no laundry to do, because that will mean that my children are grown and gone. Also have to agree with our children being us. We took on the identity of Mom. They are the threads that make up the fabric that is us. With out them we are naked. Sorry wrote my own post but it's nice to hear that somebody understands your craziness 😉

  2. Very well said, to both of you! A perfectly clean house in which children live, means that you are spending the majority of your time cleaning and not loving on your babies. They are only with us for a short time, make the most of it, even if it means the dishes or laundry is never completely done all the time. Don't even get me started on dusting, that is one chore I rarely do! Hehe!