Our Adventure!!

Standard

About two months ago, my Hubs lost his job.. and though he worked hard to find a new one it just wasn’t to be. This led to our loosing the lease on our house. We looked into several job options in other places but nothing worked out. It all led to our taking the kids to my parents the week before Christmas while we traveled to Bend Oregon to look into a job there. We had a friend we were supposed to stay with. We traveled through crazy winter conditions, and lots of snow (my first time driving in the white stuff), to get there and not be able to reach our friend! We spent our gas and food money on a hotel room, thankfully one that had a free snack and breakfast bar, so we didn’t starve, because it was getting very cold and all the roads froze. The next day we tried to reach our friend again and were unable to. Hubs put in some job applications and was hired immediately at two places. But we had no place to stay! We came home and asked around about places to stay there, and got nothing. SO then we looked into another job available in the Medford area.. again, we couldn’t find housing to hold us all until the first pay check came in. So, we came to spend Christmas with my parents. Hubs, on a whim, went and applied at a local senior housing facility. He got the job. So we left the kids here a couple days after Christmas, went home and packed what we could into the biggest U-Haul truck we could find, which was a 12 footer.. HA. The U-Haul guy was nice enough to also give us a trailer because we couldn’t find a bigger truck. We got all the important stuff loaded up, in one day. The neighbors were kind enough to clean the house and take care of all the small details in exchange for some furniture etc they wanted that we were not taking with us, and everything else was donated to our church and local women’s help shelter… All this was in a week and a half’s time!! Talk about a whirlwind. Every time we thought we knew what we were doing, or where we were headed things would change! So now there are 6 adults and 6 children all living in one two story, three bedroom house, and all of our belongings are in a storage shed…and my uncle and brother live just next door and are always over here too! Then when we got here we found out that Hubs is on call for the next two weeks and not starting immediately like they first said!! UGH!

We homeschool at a tiny kitchen table.. and cook all together. And fight over the same computer! It is very cramped and crazy, but for the time being it is working!! It reminds me of how families lived not too long ago! Our mail is all crazy and out of whack and I have dreams at night about lost diapers in the mail! Haha. I have recieved a couple of items that I forgot to write down in all the craziness and my re-review schedule got lost somewhere, so that isn’t up to date at all! Hopefully I will get that back on track soon. I have to go through all my posts and re write when I reviewed each item! It has been nice having constant help with the kids, and Hubs and I have been able to take off alone a couple of times. My mom is on top of the laundry so it is all caught up almost all the time! Which is a first for us!

I have to admit that coming back here was not anywhere near the top of the list of places I wanted to go!! But since we have been here, my grandma has been diagnosed with breast cancer, my mother has major back and knee problems, and it’s about all she can do to take care of her. Though she is the strongest woman I know, and does it anyway! So I think for now, this is just where we are supposed to be.

So that is what is going on in our crazy lives!!

Be Blessed…
Katie

About misadventuresofafamilyof8

I am a SAHM of 6 kids, and I homeschool, cloth diaper, wear my toddler, used to breastfeed, cook from scratch, not so crunchy mama. Hubs is a chef, and loves to cook. We go to church when we can, and I love to learn new things about how to be a better wife and mother.

5 responses

  1. I suddenly understand your comment about doubling the recipes and still running out! God is always amazingly good to us as he works things out that look impossible and sometimes even hopeless! My hubby is laid off thru April and we never know what is around the corner, but God is always faithful. Don't worry, and keep your eyes planted securely on Him πŸ™‚