To All My Loyal Followers…

Standard
Putters and her baby in her “legs” I made from socks!

I just wanted to leave you a note saying thank you so much for actually reading my ramblings.. in the past 5 months, this blog has taken off from being a way to keep out of state family up to date, to being what it is.. a huge part of my life! I don’t think my out of state family even reads any of this! I love writing reviews and hunting down products that everyone might enjoy! But I kinda miss writing posts about life.. I will try to do more of that in the future!

I also wanted to say that if you have a blog, and I am not already following you.. I am having trouble keeping up with everyone, so if you want me to follow you back please leave me a comment with your blog URL under this post, and I will get to following! :O)

Like father like daughter.. Hubs put chains on our van when we went to Bend in a tee-shirt and shorts in 28* weather! It was much warmer here but still COLD!

As most of you know, I do our school year from tax return to tax return. This year I am going with a new curriculum. I bought a Sonlight Core 3 curriculum for my oldest three children on Ebay, and I am anxiously awaiting it’s arrival. I am looking forward to sharing with you our journey this next year through it! I can’t wait to teach, ahem, learn Early American History with my kids! I love that while it is geared for the older kids, because alot of the curriculum is reading living books, my younger two will probably learn a thing or two as well.

This is how we control “Clown”… just kidding.. I found him like this the other day.. guess he got tired of himself.. LOL. He actually scotch taped himself to the chair.. or his brother did..

For the younger two, I am going to go more of a Charlotte Mason route. They are so creative, (Little Man was coloring IN the lines before age 3, and he will spend HOURS trying to get his letters or numbers just perfect, and EVERYTHING has to be colored!) and so easily distracted it is very difficult to get them to sit for more then 20-25 minutes at a time. So for them it will be quick and easy math lessons, on brightly colored math worksheets, (Horizons) and lots of story times, along with a page or two a day of handwriting (Confessions Of A Homeschooler Blog) and a reading lesson. They are both learning to read using “Teach Your Child To Read In 100 Easy Lessons”. Which we are loving. The lessons take about 15 minutes each, and they are learning alot!

This is an Apple Tree I found on my desktop!

I will be tweaking our schedule, and our new workbox routine to make it work with the new curriculum. Most likely I will be doing school with the younger two in the mornings, while the older three do lessons that they can do on their own, then school with the older three working on things they will need help on in the afternoon. But, as we all know, our best laid plans sometimes don’t work out. I saw a wall plaque the other day that said, “We Plan, God Laughs“.

Speaking of that quote.. I will be sharing soon another way we “Planned, and God Laughed.”

Here is “Knight” wearing the crown he made while we were doing a unit study on Kings and Queens.

Be Blessed..
~Katie

About misadventuresofafamilyof8

I am a SAHM of 6 kids, and I homeschool, cloth diaper, wear my toddler, used to breastfeed, cook from scratch, not so crunchy mama. Hubs is a chef, and loves to cook. We go to church when we can, and I love to learn new things about how to be a better wife and mother.

3 responses