We Plan… God Laughs…

Standard

We never planned on having this many kids. I think 4 was about our number when we were dating. I always wanted two girls and two boys, and we already had one girl. So after Knight, then Clown and then Little Mama came along.. well, that just seemed like it was right. So we planned to not have any more.

So imagine my surprise when I found out Little Man was on his way despite the birth control I was on! He was the easiest baby imaginable though. Slept all the time, never fussed. He is still that way, at 7 years old, just kinda hangs out in the background until he has something to say. He’s always the first to give up a fight, but don’t dare try to sneak onions or Brussels sprouts onto his plate! Again that was it for us.. no more!!

I remember Hubs taking me away for a few days for my birthday a few months after Little Man was born, and being sick almost the entire time we were gone due to the migraine the birth control I was on gave me. That was an adventure! Our first night out, we got a room at a hotel, went out for dinner and came back to the entire police force in our hotel room, going through our belongings!! The hotel clerk forgot to check us in on the computer then went off shift. The next clerk tried to check another couple in only to find the room was occupied.. they thought someone had broken in! The next two days were spent in a haze in a different hotel throwing up in the ice bucket because the pain was so bad. Because of the headache and all the other side effects, I opted to try the Depo-Provera shot instead of pills. Then I was a week late getting the next shot due to being sick…and along came Juice Box.

I decided I was done with shots and pills and had an IUD inserted. A couple years later.. my IUD came out, and and 9 months after that along came the Putt Putt.. After that I pretty much gave up on birth control.. or should I say MY control. After reading this status that a friend posted on her FB page, I knew that GOD is in control.

“I’m not going to say to my commanding officer, “But, I don’t want any more arrows. Just 1 or 2 to take into battle with me. They’re too cumbersome & too hard to handle. I’ll take my chances & go into battle with just 1…Okay, commander? I think I really am the 1 who knows best in this situation. I know you are the superior officer. But, I just can’t let you have control on this one. I’m breaking ranks on this one.”

Children are a GIFT from the Lord; BABIES are a REWARD.CHILDREN who are born to a young man are LIKE ARROWS in the hand of a WARRIOR. HAPPY is the man who has his bag FULL of arrows. They WILL NOT be defeated when they FIGHT their ENEMIES at the city gate.
~ Psalm 127:3-10″

Is having this many children a hassle, especially since we home school!? Do I miss sleep? Are they expensive? Don’t I miss having ME time? Don’t I miss having TIME period? Well.. YES to all of that! But when I look at my kids.. I see that I don’t think I would be ME without any of them. When I think that one of them maybe wouldn’t be here because of my choice, I shudder. I am so glad that GOD knew more then we did what we NEEDED. I need my children.. every one of them!! I can’t imagine what life would be like without one of them here. Yes life is crazy, hectic and insane.. it’s also beautiful, with sloppy kisses and peanut butter hugs, and pictures all over the fridge (not to mention the walls…) and getting to hear my late reader discover he can read an entire sentence.. and BEING HERE to watch his face light up when he realizes that he can!

But I have to admit.. I really thought Putt Putt was the last… that was our plan… again… But it looks like I am going to have to change the name of this blog… Because sometime around October 10th of this year, we will no longer be a family of 8.. but one of 9!! So the reason I haven’t been online so much is the ALL DAY morning sickness I have been fighting my way through.. and the extreme tiredness! I feel I could sleep ALL day long.. I am so glad it’s Spring Break! So bear with me.. I will get online as much as I am able!

Be Blessed..
~Katie

About misadventuresofafamilyof8

I am a SAHM of 6 kids, and I homeschool, cloth diaper, wear my toddler, used to breastfeed, cook from scratch, not so crunchy mama. Hubs is a chef, and loves to cook. We go to church when we can, and I love to learn new things about how to be a better wife and mother.

6 responses

  1. OMGOODNESS…..I said this on my FB page MONTHS ago inspired by the Holy Spirit. I did not know it have traveled so far!

    “I'm not going to say to my commanding officer, “But, I don't want any more arrows. Just 1 or 2 to take into battle with me. They're too cumbersome & too hard to handle. I'll take my chances & go into battle with just 1…Okay, commander? I think I really am the 1 who knows best in this situation. I know you are the superior officer. But, I just can't let you have control on this one. I'm breaking ranks on this one.”

    rapturerdy1@cox.net

  2. love this post. I was the same way with number four. I even got pregnant the day after my period. I also finally surrendered when the babies were amazingly conceived no matter how hard I tried to control. Now, with six, I can't have any more, after five years of trying, I see God's wisdom in putting six children close together before my body stopped working right for babies. I would have missed out if I had not surrendered after baby number four. God is so wise.

  3. And yet I know people (actually, I am related to such people) who want to leave NO room for God's intervention AT ALL. If I mention stories like yours they say you should've used 2 forms of birth control at once. If I say I know someone who did that and STILL got pregnant (which I do!) they say then she should've got sterilized. These are people who go to church, vote republican, and claim to be “pro-life” except for the “hard cases”. Oh, and her husband is a pastor!