False Positives…

Standard

As most of you know, this pregnancy has left me so ill I could barely get off the couch most days. For me that is pretty strange. I have had horrible heartburn with most of my pregnancies but never such horrible all day and night morning sickness. I finally decided this weekend to contact my midwife on Monday and ask for something to help with the sickness.

Monday morning came, I sent Hubs off to work and headed for the bathroom. Once there, I discovered that I was bleeding.. a lot. I started to panic, I couldn’t find my phone. Hubs walked back in the door, thank God! He had read the schedule wrong and had shown up for work three hours early!

I was told to head to the hospital immediately for an ultrasound. Once there, I got to wait for almost an hour before I was finally taken to the ultra sound room. The regular ultrasound showed nothing, so I got the joy of having an internal ultrasound for the first time. That ultra sound also showed nothing.. no baby. After a blood test I was diagnosed with a Molar Pregnancy.

A molar pregnancy happens when an egg with no genetic information is fertilized by a sperm. The sperm grows on its own, but it can only become a lump of tissue. It cannot become a fetus. As this tissue grows, it looks a bit like a cluster of grapes. This cluster of tissue is called a mole, and it can fill the uterus.

It can also turn into a disease called trophoblastic disease.

So this Friday morning I will be going in to have it surgically removed, and then I will be tested monthly for the next 6-12 months to make sure that it hasn’t turned into trophoblastic disease. If it does, then my chances of it becoming cancer become higher. Although I have been told that this type of cancer is almost 100% curable, it would require some medications and treatments I would much rather not subject my body to! Also, if the mass has grown into my uterine wall they will have to remove my uterus..

So there is a lot of information and medical stuff going through my head! I am worried and stressed… I feel totally out of control of what is going on… mostly the doctor doesn’t know all that is going on until he gets in there… so there are several unknowns which make it worse!

I will be spending the next few days going to several doctor appointments, getting blood work done etc, then I will be pretty much out of commission for the weekend. Hopefully I will be back on Monday and I will let you all know how we are doing! Thanks for all your prayers! It really means a lot to me!

Be Blessed…
~Katie

About misadventuresofafamilyof8

I am a SAHM of 6 kids, and I homeschool, cloth diaper, wear my toddler, used to breastfeed, cook from scratch, not so crunchy mama. Hubs is a chef, and loves to cook. We go to church when we can, and I love to learn new things about how to be a better wife and mother.

7 responses

  1. Much to pray for!
    LORD, I ask that You enclose Katie from above and below and side to side. Help her to feel Your presence at every turn. I ask for supernatural wisdom for she and her husband through this journey. Please grant them peace and joy in the journey as well. In Jesus' name, Amen!

    ~Heidi
    fellow Gabby Mom