Fluffy Pumpkin Pancakes!

Standard

Yesterday I found an Amish recipe for Fluffy Pumpkin Pancakes. I thought those sounded really good and my kids will eat pumpkin anything, anytime of the year. So this morning I got up and started whipping up a batch. I then decided to double the recipe, as that is what I usually have to do with a pancake recipe. Boy was that a wrong move.. over 50 pancakes later, I was finally finished flipping pancakes. Here is the original recipe so you don’t have to make 50 pancakes! Since I scored on cans or organic pumpkin puree for only $.45 a can, this recipe only cost me a couple dollars to make!

Fluffy Pumpkin Pancakes
2 C. Flour
4 Teaspoons baking powder.
1 tsp salt.
2 TBS sugar
2 C. milk
1 TBS melted butter
1 C. mashed pumpkin
2 eggs, whites separated from the yolk.
( I also added a tsp of pumpkin pie spice, cause I knew my kids would like it better that way)

In a large bowl sift together the dry ingredients. In a blender, or with a whisk if you don’t have a blender, mix the milk, butter, pumpkin and egg yolks. Stir into dry ingredients. Beat egg whites until stiff and fold in gently at the very last. (Use a mixer, don’t try to beat by hand, you will be there all day!!) Ladle batter onto hot greased griddle. When the edges start to bubble flip, and cook until done.

Happy Little Mama with a full tummy!

I found these tasted best when they were slightly undercooked. But that is just me, the kids thought I was weird. :O)

Enjoy!

~Katie

About misadventuresofafamilyof8

I am a SAHM of 6 kids, and I homeschool, cloth diaper, wear my toddler, used to breastfeed, cook from scratch, not so crunchy mama. Hubs is a chef, and loves to cook. We go to church when we can, and I love to learn new things about how to be a better wife and mother.

Comments are closed.