Hot Breakfast That’s Not Oatmeal Again!!

Standard

My kids love hot cereals such as oatmeal and grits and I would much rather make them a hot breakfast then pour some cold cereal into bowls, knowing that they will stay full longer. But oatmeal gets kind of old after a while! For breakfast while we were growing up, my mom often warmed up leftover rice and topped it with cinnamon sugar, butter and a little milk. It was one of our favorite breakfasts! But we rarely have leftover rice and I rarely remember to make extra so we have enough for another meal! So I came up with this simple recipe to make on those cold mornings when I hear the kids already groaning about “Not Oatmeal Again!” before they are even out of bed!

Hot Rice Cereal with Raisins and Cinnamon

You will need:
4 cups hot water
2 cups rice
1 cup sugar
1 cup raisins
Cinnamon, butter and milk to top with

Bring the rice, sugar, raisins and water to a boil on the stove. Reduce heat to a simmer, and cover rice with air tight lid. Set timer for 20 minutes and DO NOT LIFT THE LID, until the timer goes off! After 20 minutes, lift lid and see if water is gone. If not, give a quick stir and return lid for another 5 minutes or so. Stir the rice mix and spoon into bowls, add a pat of butter, a sprinkle of cinnamon and as much milk as you like. Serve while still warm!

This quick and easy meal is great for busy mornings when you just need a little more then a cold bowl of cereal. If you have more time, my kids love wild rice and brown rice the same way. To use those rices you just cook for the amount of time on the packages. Usually 30-40 minutes.

Enjoy!
~Katie

About misadventuresofafamilyof8

I am a SAHM of 6 kids, and I homeschool, cloth diaper, wear my toddler, used to breastfeed, cook from scratch, not so crunchy mama. Hubs is a chef, and loves to cook. We go to church when we can, and I love to learn new things about how to be a better wife and mother.

One response