Because This Week Hasn’t Been Crazy Enough…

Standard

We decided to hop on a plane and fly to Chicago for a night…

No seriously… years and years ago my Hubs and his buddy were on the Oprah Winfrey show. Back in his skinhead days, when Oprah was doing a show on that gang and what they were about etc. Since this is her last season, she is doing a lot of “Where are they now?” shows, and contacted Hub’s buddy, and he had them contact Hubs. For a while it was just, we want to know what you have been up to, and how you have changed etc. Suddenly it became “We are flying you out here to be on the show, NOW”… Which I almost missed because our cell phones are out, the entire towns cell phones are out for some reason, and we were moving so I didn’t have internet for them to email us. Imagine my surprise this morning while going through the several hundred emails I received in the last few days to find that!!

So his buddy is driving over to pick us up, and the three of us are flying to Chicago, possibly to meet Oprah Winfrey and the guys will possibly be on her show!! At first when I was asked if I wanted to go, I said no thanks! Then I was thinking about it, and I was telling myself.. “What are you thinking??!! You are turning down an expense paid trip to CHICAGO!!! Paid for by Oprah Winfrey!! Your crazy!!” So I emailed back and said “Can I still come?” And was told “Sure!”

I am totally blown away! I have never flown anywhere before, so this will be a first for me! I am not sure what to do next.. what to pack.. I really don’t have clothes that one could wear to meet Oprah Winfrey… I have never flown, so I am imagining being taken out by security guards for packing too much toothpaste… and I have to leave my kids, suddenly, for several days!! I don’t know if the phones will start working again, so I can call my kids while we are gone.. I don’t have a laptop.. all this stuff is going through my brain..

So just because this week hasn’t been crazy enough, we decided to hop on a plane to Chicago for a night…

Be Blessed…
~Katie

About misadventuresofafamilyof8

I am a SAHM of 6 kids, and I homeschool, cloth diaper, wear my toddler, used to breastfeed, cook from scratch, not so crunchy mama. Hubs is a chef, and loves to cook. We go to church when we can, and I love to learn new things about how to be a better wife and mother.

2 responses

  1. just make sure you get some of our wonderful Chicago style pizza (my fave is giardanos), and italian beef (al's beef!) and a hotdog (portillos or hot dougs) welcome! 🙂