Thinkin’ Outta The Box – Crockpot Green Chili Stew

Standard

My sister requested this recipe be posted to the blog when she saw my post about it on Facebook. Since the recipe I was using today is copyrighted I can’t post that one, but I can post the recipe we usually eat around here which is quite similar.

My mom was raised in New Mexico where my gramps worked on a Navajo Indian Reservation and I was born there. She grew up on meals like this, so then, so did I! This is my first go to meal on cold rainy days, and is always chosen over a pot of beef stew any day! I am so glad my Hubs and the kids love it too. I love trying different versions of this stew, and at the bottom are some other additions I have seen added in several other recipes. Though they are not authentic New Mexican additions they are good!

You will need:
1 large skillet
1 crockpot

1 TBS oil
1 lbs pork butt diced
6-8 potatoes (depending on size) cut in chunks
1 diced yellow onion
1-2 can(s) diced green chilies (You decide the heat level)
1 14.5 oz can of chicken broth, or 4 cups. I usually use a 32 oz box rather then a can and it works just as well.
2 tsp cumin
2 tsp. oregano
1 tsp good quality salt
4 cloves of garlic minced

In a large skillet heat a little oil, about a TBS. Brown the pork pieces. Place in a crockpot, and all all other ingredients over it. Add water to cover if needed. Cook on low for 7-8 hours or on high 3-4. Serve with hot buttered tortillas.

You can also add a can of diced tomatoes and/or cannellini beans to this recipe and top with a little lime juice, a dollop of sour cream, cilantro if you like it.

Be Blessed… and as always take time to “Think Outta The Box”.
~Katie

About misadventuresofafamilyof8

I am a SAHM of 6 kids, and I homeschool, cloth diaper, wear my toddler, used to breastfeed, cook from scratch, not so crunchy mama. Hubs is a chef, and loves to cook. We go to church when we can, and I love to learn new things about how to be a better wife and mother.

One response