The Flats And Handwashing Challenge… Day 1

Standard

The Flats and Handwashing Challenge starts on May 23rd and ends on May 30th. For this week, those who join the challenge can only use flat fold diapers, no more then 5 covers, and hand prep and wash these diapers for the entire week. We cannot use diaper sprayers, washers, or dryers. The purpose of this challenge is to show parents that any one, in any circumstance, can cloth diaper their babies for about the cost of a case, or a months worth, of disposable diapers. In a baby’s first year, new parents will have brought home an average of 2,788 diapers for a total cost of $557.60 *based on an average price of 20 cents per disposable diaper. I am joining… will you?


Today starts the week long challenge to use only flat diapers and hand wash them. I have been practicing all the folds, and using them with the covers I chose, so that I wasn’t headed into this week completely unprepared. I have yet to try my hand at the camp washer though! That will come tomorrow morning as soon as breakfast is over. I decided that washing them every morning then hang drying them for the day was probably our best bet.

We got up this morning and started with a kite folded Green Mountain Diapers Cloth-eez unbleached organic birds eye flat in a Thirsties cover. (also from Green Mountain Diapers, though I have another one, for later this week from Thirsties!) I am quite happy with the kite fold. It’s really funny, when I last used flats, I loved the origami fold, and hated the kite, now it’s the other way around.. in fact, for the life of me, I can’t get the origami fold right!

I also tried the pad fold, but Putter’s poo is still the consistency of warm peanut butter and it leaked. The Kite fold with the edges rolled up before putting on the cover, seems to work the best. So far I haven’t had a leak! Now that I have the fold down, it really takes me no longer to put a diaper on her then it does to put on a all in one cloth diaper. I have been using the flats for a little over a week now, and love how easy they are to wash! They don’t require the cold rinse, hot wash, double cold rinse as my AIO one fitted’s do. They also have no smell! I still do a cold rinse to keep them from staining, then a hot wash with 1 tbs of detergent to get them clean. In the camp washer I am sure the same will be needed, with a good rinse added to remove all the detergent.

For night time, I have been using a kite folded Green Mountain Diaper with a pad folded bamboo fleece flat from The Green Scene inside and covered with a bullet proof wool diaper cover from Nifty Nappy Cloth Diapers, who no longer makes diapers. The Green Scene sent me a wool cover but it was too big for my skinny bean pole baby and I need to take the time to shrink it a little before I can use it. That was my fault though, as I told Melisa the wrong size.

For every 6 bamboo fleece flats that The Green Scene sells she is offering a free scrappy wool cover!! Putters is a super heavy night time wetter, and it’s been hard to find diapers that don’t leak at night, but this combo has worked great every night we have tried it! I also use these flats if I know we are going to be out of the house for a while as they are super absorbent, and don’t need to be changed as often as the birds eye flats.

A Green Scene Bamboo Fleece Flat, with a Snappi, super soft, super absorbent, well worth the extra pennies. Great for night time diapering!!

That’s day 1 … so far I have learned that flats are actually super easy to use once you get the hang of them. I actually have been choosing them over my pockets! With all the great covers, and great choices in flat diapers, these still are not your Grandma’s diapers!!

See ya all tomorrow!!

Be Blessed…
~Katie

About misadventuresofafamilyof8

I am a SAHM of 6 kids, and I homeschool, cloth diaper, wear my toddler, used to breastfeed, cook from scratch, not so crunchy mama. Hubs is a chef, and loves to cook. We go to church when we can, and I love to learn new things about how to be a better wife and mother.

3 responses

  1. You are so good at your folds!!! I refuse to take a picture of mine, they are sooooooo horrible! I need folding lessons! Can you come over? Lol!

  2. I wish I could!! I practiced while the tornados were sleeping.. it's much easier!! :O)

    I LOVE these bamboo fleece diapers.. they are so stretchy, I can hide all the little imperfections in my folding with them!! And they get much snugger then the birds eye which means they hold in more poo.. but they are also more spendy.. But they leave little white “puffs” all over her peaches LOL…