Green Mountain Diapers Review and Giveaway!! CLOSED!!

Standard

Are you all ready for my first Flats and Handwashing Challenge review and giveaway??

I wanted to start with Green Mountain Diapers because they were the biggest sponsor! Green Mountain Diapers sent me everything I needed to cloth diaper. I received 12 unbleached birds eye Cloth-eez flat diapers, four covers, a snappi, pins and instruction on how to prep, wash and care for these items for the price of $83.00. This is really almost more then you would need to cloth diaper for an older baby. I could see using this many for a newborn, but I have been using on average 5-6 diapers a day and one cover.


The Green Mountain Diapers flats wash easily in the camp style bucket, and before I started the challenge, I used them and washed them in the washer. Unlike other cloth diapers, pockets, all in ones, all in twos’ etc, they do not need special detergent, and they also do not need four washes. I washed them on a COLD wash with no soap to begin with, just to keep them from staining, then a HOT wash with 1 TBS of our regular laundry detergent. I added a little vinegar to the final rinse for some extra softness, and tossed them in the dryer.


For the Challenge, I have to hand wash them. For this I used a Camp Washer Bucket seen here. I filled it with cold water, let it soak about twenty minutes, swishing now and then with the plunger. I dumped the bucket into the shower, wrung out the diapers and wipes and filled the bucket with 1 tsp The Peaceful Housewife’s laundry detergent, and HOT water. I swished it around to dissolve the detergent then added the diapers back in. I used the plunger vigorously for three minutes, then dumped the bucket again. I wrung out the diapers put them back in the bucket and filled it with COLD water. I used the plunger a few times and the water was clear and had no bubbles so I knew the diapers were clean and well rinsed. I dumped it, wrung out the diapers and took them out to hang dry in the sun! All that (minus the soaking time) took me about 15 minutes.


All this to show that ANYONE can use cloth diapers! Green Mountain Diapers even has a great page that answers almost every question about using cloth you could ask!

An origami folded Green Mountain Cloth-eez flat

You can buy Green Mountain Diaper products on their website.. and they have much more then just flats! Swaddlebees, covers, accessories and more!

Green Mountain Diapers has generously offered a blessed reader this Swaddlebees Simplex all in one in giraffe print to win!

THIS GIVEAWAY ENDS WEDNESDAY JUNE 1ST, AT 4:00 P.M. PST

Mandatory Entry:
Be a Public GFC follower of this blog and tell me one other thing Green Mountain Diapers sells that you would like to try!

EXTRA ENTRIES:
1. Like Green Mountain Diapers on Facebook, and thank them for this giveaway! +1
2. Fan Misadventures Of A Family Of 8 on FB. +1
3. Grab my button, place on your blog, and leave me your blog link so I can find it! +3
4. Follow me via Networked Blogs. +2
5. Post about this giveaway in your FB status, using the link for this giveaway and tagging Green Mountain Diapers and Misadventures! +1 (Can be done daily)
6. Follow me on Twitter. +3
7. Sign up for my email subscriptions. +1
8. Enter another one of my open giveaways, and tell me which one.
+1 for each open giveaway you enter.


This policy is valid from 15 October 2010

This blog is a personal blog written and edited by me. This blog does not accept any form of cash advertising, sponsorship, or paid topic insertions. However, we will and do accept and keep free products, services, travel, event tickets, and other forms of compensation from companies and organizations.

The compensation received will never influence the content, topics or posts made in this blog. All advertising is in the form of advertisements generated by a third party ad network. Those advertisements will be identified as paid advertisements.

The owner(s) of this blog is not compensated to provide opinion on products, services, websites and various other topics. The views and opinions expressed on this blog are purely the blog owners. If we claim or appear to be experts on a certain topic or product or service area, we will only endorse products or services that we believe, based on our expertise, are worthy of such endorsement. Any product claim, statistic, quote or other representation about a product or service should be verified with the manufacturer or provider.

This blog does not contain any content which might present a conflict of interest.

About misadventuresofafamilyof8

I am a SAHM of 6 kids, and I homeschool, cloth diaper, wear my toddler, used to breastfeed, cook from scratch, not so crunchy mama. Hubs is a chef, and loves to cook. We go to church when we can, and I love to learn new things about how to be a better wife and mother.

329 responses

  1. I follow your blog via GFC as Carolyn H and I'd love to try Under the Nile Organic fitted diapers

    graceink at yahoo dot com

  2. gfc aperry
    I'd like to try the imse vimse organic cotton diaper coverImse Vimse Organic Diaper Covers
    missanneperry at gmail dot com

  3. I Like Green Mountain Diapers on Facebook, and thanked them for this giveaway!
    Anne E. Perry
    missanneperry at gmail dot com

  4. I follow you and GMD has this 100% wool changing pad that can be used also a blanket that I have been coveting now for awhile!!!
    shabbychicmomma at gmail dot com

  5. I have liked GMD on Facebook for a long time! But now I have liked your page, too, and your button is on my blog, loud and proud, right here: http://lisamamula.blogspot.com/.

    I am also now following you on Twitter. Thanks for doing this; your blog looks awesome! Can't wait to check it out more (after the kiddies go to bed)!

    lisa.mamula(at)gmail.com

  6. The GMD product I'd most like to try is the Disana Wool Pull-on cover. Or the Kissaluvs wool cover. Or the Little Beetles Merino pants… So many!

    lisa.mamula(at)gmail.com

  7. Of course I like you on fb!

    Snoogaboobaby @ gmail dot com

    My current object of desire at GMD is the Kissas Wool Cover! Trying to budget that in…

  8. I'm a follower via networked blogs!
    Getting mine up & running as we speak…
    Snoogaboobaby @ blogspot dot com

    Email
    Snoogaboobaby @ gmail dot com

    Currently drooling over the Kissas Wool Cover at GMD!

  9. Liked GMD on fb … Told them you sent me!

    Snoogaboobaby @ gmail dot com

    I am crushing on the Kissas Wool Cover at GMD!!

  10. I hear great things about their prefolds, but I'd love to try one of their flats since they are larger than mine.
    trishabear1970 at yahoo dot com

  11. liked Green Mountain diapers on FB
    tagged you and said thanks
    Bridgett Yoches Zaidi

    princessbridgett at hotmail dot com

  12. I like green mountain on Facebook and thanked them Heidi reall daily

  13. I like green mountain on fb as Jessica Beardmore Hilton and thanked them.

  14. I am a fb fan of Misadventures of a family of 8 as Jessica Beardmore Hilton

  15. Like Green Mountain Diapers on Facebook, and thanked them for this giveaway!

  16. I follow GFC and I think I’d like to try the Kissaluvs Diaper Lotion Potion Spray. leahronnie0810 at yahoo dot com

  17. I entered the lulu’s lids giveaway. leahronnie0810 at yahoo dot com

  18. I entered the Peaceful Housewife giveaway leahronnie0810 at yahoo dot com

  19. I follow your GFC blog publicly as Aimee Fogler. I would love to try their Kissaluv wool covers πŸ™‚

  20. I am AAF of GMD on Facebook, and I thanked them for the giveaway! πŸ™‚ (tagged you in the post)

  21. I posted about this giveaway on my Facebook wall and tagged you and GMD in it πŸ™‚

  22. I am a public GFC follower of your blog and I would like to try the Bummis Super Brite cover from Green Mountain Diapers.