The Flats And Handwashing Challenge… Day 3

Standard


The Flats and Handwashing Challenge starts on May 23rd and ends on May 30th. For this week, those who join the challenge can only use flat fold diapers, no more then 5 covers, and hand prep and wash these diapers for the entire week. We cannot use diaper sprayers, washers, or dryers. The purpose of this challenge is to show parents that any one, in any circumstance, can cloth diaper their babies for about the cost of a case, or a months worth, of disposable diapers. In a baby’s first year, new parents will have brought home an average of 2,788 diapers for a total cost of $557.60 *based on an average price of 20 cents per disposable diaper. I am joining… will you?

It’s day 3 of the Flats and Handwashing Challenge, and I am feeling it!! My arm muscles burn, and my eyes are scratchy! Who decided I should wash diapers in the morning?? I forgot to tell them I am NOT a morning person!! Oh! Right! It was me!!

This is how I am taking my coffee this morning…

I really have no problem with washing diapers by hand in the morning. I am NOT joking about not being a morning person. But no one else around here wants to wash diapers by hand, so they all leave me alone while I do it! I think they think if they come near me, I will make them do it! It actually works out quite well. Of course, when I had just hung the diapers out to dry (thank God, it rained all night, and now it’s sunny and warm!) I came back inside to Putter’s telling me she poo’d!! And it was a diaper that should NOT sit all night in my bathroom… but it will anyway.


I didn’t get much sleep last night, thanks to our neighbor who is bi-polar and likes loud music, and Putter’s being a light sleeper and NOT liking loud music. But, after 6 kids I am used to not getting a lot of sleep, and so was up and at em this morning. I took a shower while the diapers soaked in COLD water, then washed them in hot with about a teaspoon of The Peaceful Housewife’s Laundry Detergent, then rinsed them well in COLD water, wrung them out and hung them to dry in sun. Hopefully the sun will get that horrible stain out of my once pretty bamboo fleece diaper! That all took me about 15 minutes.


I’ll follow up that last cup with a large cup of Turkish coffee… I wish! Can’t find it around here!

I was thinking this morning about what all this is really going to teach me? I realized, that I now have a way to travel with cloth, go camping and have clean laundry and diapers, and have something to use in emergencies, which living on the Oregon Coast can come in handy! I can easily show any friend or parent who has trouble affording diapers how to do this now.

I was also thinking that for those that live in apartments, and have to pay per load of laundry, that this is a great way to go! Even if you washed your diapers in the community washers and dryers you would still be spending less each week then you would on disposables. And you would never run out! You could easily rinse them in a bucket, wash them in the washer and dry them in dryer, or even hang them in your apartment and still save money!


For those of you who live in a high humidity area, such as Florida, and are having trouble getting your diapers to dry, hang them inside and direct a fan in their direction. It will help them dry much faster!

I noticed yesterday when I pulled my diapers off the line, they were super stiff! I balled them up, and scrunched them for a while and it helped some, but today I put a half cup of vinegar in the last rinse to see if that would soften them a little. I will let you know!

Day 3 Lessons:
1. Use a little Vinegar in the final rinse.
2. Make sure baby has had her poo BEFORE washing..
3. Drink coffee before starting.. Haven’t I heard that before?
4. The diaper bag fold does NOT work well at night with another flat pad folded.. it didn’t leak, but was so thick, Putter’s had trouble walking!

Be Blessed…
~Katie


About misadventuresofafamilyof8

I am a SAHM of 6 kids, and I homeschool, cloth diaper, wear my toddler, used to breastfeed, cook from scratch, not so crunchy mama. Hubs is a chef, and loves to cook. We go to church when we can, and I love to learn new things about how to be a better wife and mother.

Comments are closed.