The Flats And Handwashing Challenge… Day 6

Standard


The Flats and Handwashing Challenge starts on May 23rd and ends on May 30th. For this week, those who join the challenge can only use flat fold diapers, no more then 5 covers, and hand prep and wash these diapers for the entire week. We cannot use diaper sprayers, washers, or dryers. The purpose of this challenge is to show parents that any one, in any circumstance, can cloth diaper their babies for about the cost of a case, or a months worth, of disposable diapers. In a baby’s first year, new parents will have brought home an average of 2,788 diapers for a total cost of $557.60 *based on an average price of 20 cents per disposable diaper. I am joining… will you?


Today is Day 6 of the Flats and Handwashing Challenge!! Is everyone else surviving?

I had TWO loads to wash in the camp washer this morning since I didn’t get to wash yesterday. Thankfully I have enough flats to make it through while two days of diapers dry on the line! I paid Clown a quarter to go hang them up for me after I washed them.. my arms were killing me after all that wringing out! Thankfully the sun is shining today, so they are all hanging out in the bright sunshine! A few need the sun for bleaching purposes and when I was outside just a few minutes ago the flour sack towels were almost dry already! It’s been less then an hour! Since I seem to have totally lost two of my covers (don’t ask.. I have NO idea how! LOL) I am out of covers, and I also don’t have a blow dryer, so I cheated and tossed the covers in my mom’s dryer.

I don’t really have anything new lesson wise today. Yesterday was so crazy, I didn’t take any pictures or anything. I guess I could say that I learned if you don’t wash diapers one day you can be guaranteed to wash a double load the next!


Putters has a bit of a rash today, for that I use MotherLove Herbal Companies Diaper Rash and Thrush Ointment. I love this stuff, it works quickly, is all natural.

Lessons from Day 6:
1. Don’t loose your covers… you need them.
2. You can go a day without washing diapers… but be prepared for an extra workout on day 2!
3. Have good diaper rash ointment on hand… especially if you have kids that like to feed the baby citrus foods that make her get a rash.

Be Blessed…
~Katie



About misadventuresofafamilyof8

I am a SAHM of 6 kids, and I homeschool, cloth diaper, wear my toddler, used to breastfeed, cook from scratch, not so crunchy mama. Hubs is a chef, and loves to cook. We go to church when we can, and I love to learn new things about how to be a better wife and mother.

Comments are closed.