I Can’t Do This Alone…

Standard

With Hubs gone for 2-4 weeks while he searches for a job and a home for us almost 4 hours away, I am on my own. It’s a 6 to 1 ratio, and those odds are not great! To be honest.. I am SCARED!! Already the kids are testing boundaries, and seeing how far they can take the not doing something when told, or purposely doing something they know that they are not supposed to do, just to see what I will do. I hate that I have to be completely unbending. Yet I know that one ounce of softness and they will descend on me like piranhas!

Even the toddler has decided she will push every button I have! Refusing to go to bed, climbing out of her play pen. Throwing temper tantrums over the craziest things. I was up until almost 2 a.m with her last night. Putting her back in bed, having her climb out, putting her back, having her climb out! Finally in exhaustion, I gave up and took her to bed with me. That is NOT something I want to start again. While I love sleeping with my kids, all warm and snuggly, she sleeps like a helicopter! Literally. Arms flung, covers off, right side up one minute, upside down the next, hanging off the bed with legs dangling a minute after that. I have woken up to large bruises covering my arms and legs and even face from her flinging body parts around in her sleep!

SHHH… Be wery wery qwiet.. I’s House Hunting…

I also HAVE to have the covers on to sleep! It can be 100 degrees and I will be covered up! But she insists on pulling the covers off me, so I simply can not sleep with her in our bed!

Did I mention that we school year round, and are finishing up a break?! So we will be starting school back up on Tuesday! Actually Monday will be a school day, just not workbooks and all that. We will be doing short lessons on different wars, and the meaning of Memorial Day. I hope. If I am not strung up and hanging from the ceiling fan by then.

We will also be trying out a new church tomorrow. Yea, me and my 6, headed to a new church, where we know no one.. should be great. Do you know that I am super shy in person.. I usually hide BEHIND my husband when we go places… or use the baby as an excuse to not talk to anyone. “Oh she needs a diaper, or she’s hungry.. BYE! “

I read somewhere yesterday.. “Keep pushing my buttons and your bound to hit the kill switch sooner or later”… I am so getting a tee-shirt with that on it!


But anyway.. my point in all this.. yes there is one… is that I heard a song.. and it hit me. I don’t have to do this alone.. I can’t do this alone. I can’t do this with Hubs here! It is only by the grace of God that I get through a day, alive and with as many kids as I started the day out with. Cause He knows how easily I lose things! ( I did lose Little Man in a grocery store once.. for almost 20 minutes before I even realized he was gone and that was MY name they were calling over the loud speakers! SCARY!!) This song says it all…

Have a great day.. and don’t go it alone!

~Katie

About misadventuresofafamilyof8

I am a SAHM of 6 kids, and I homeschool, cloth diaper, wear my toddler, used to breastfeed, cook from scratch, not so crunchy mama. Hubs is a chef, and loves to cook. We go to church when we can, and I love to learn new things about how to be a better wife and mother.

4 responses

  1. I feel your pain! Hubby was laid off work this past winter and it was so much easier on me when he could help me with the managing of 3 toddlers and 5 school age kids! Take it one minute at a time when you need to, and try to keep a recognizable routine so they know what to expect, (while you expect it will not be quite the same without your other half) 🙂 Keep reminding yourself that you are not alone, and when you reach what you believe to be the end of your rope, remember you've always been there in HIS hands! Good luck to your hubs on his quest, and I pray that he will have God's discernment, wisdom and understanding in all the choices he faces as he leads you to a new chapter!

  2. Just wanted to say your post with the Sanctus Real song really hit home for me.My hubby is in the military and is gone more than he is home and though I am not a church going person,I have been trying to find faith,and your post and the song has helped me.Thank you and don't worry you can do it!Keep each day busy and then fall into bed happily exhausted and the weeks will go by quickly.That has been my model for the past 8 deployments and now into this current one.Thanks again!

  3. >Just wanted to say your post with the Sanctus Real song really hit home for me.My hubby is in the military and is gone more than he is home and though I am not a church going person,I have been trying to find faith,and your post and the song has helped me.Thank you and don't worry you can do it!Keep each day busy and then fall into bed happily exhausted and the weeks will go by quickly.That has been my model for the past 8 deployments and now into this current one.Thanks again!