Wisdom- Excellent Wife Challenge Day 5

Standard

First off I want to say… I am NOT an excellent wife. This is an area I am majorly struggling with, but that God is changing in me. I am on a journey, and am inviting you to go along with me as we discover just who that woman is in Proverbs 31, and how we could possibly even dream to be like her.  I want this to be open to discussion but please be kind in your words, just because you don’t agree with something said, doesn’t mean you have to be mean.

I think we are on day 5?! Hopefully I am right! It has been a crazy time! We went to Medford for the weekend, then Hubs was called in to work, and since he hasn’t found a car yet over there, he used my van. So we were at our friends house with no transportation (our car seats are built in!) and no where to go, and with not much of anything to do the entire weekend. Hubs is now in California washing windows with his friends to earn some money for a car to get to work and whatever is left to go towards a house.

Today I want to talk about wisdom. We all wish we had it. On a daily basis. All day! Yet it seems that even the wisdom we have takes a flight out the window the minute we need it in a hurry! Then comes back after everything has settled down! Know what I mean?! Yet Proverbs 31 tells us that this excellent wife was wise! In fact so wise her husband completely trusted her with his livelihood and that her wisdom made him known at the city gates. The city gates at this time were like the courtrooms back then. This is where all business and judgements were conducted. It tells us that SHE considered fields and bought them, and it doesn’t mention that she even consulted her husband about it, but that he completely trusted her to make wise choices! Wow.. not only would I like that wisdom, I would like to  be completely trusted that way! It always frustrates me to no end to come home with a purchase and have Hubs question me about it! And it starts a lot of arguments! But through this I have come to the understanding that there have been times (quite a few) where I have made unwise purchases and wasted our money. So has he, but that is not the point!

The Bible tells us that all we have to do is ASK for wisdom and God will give it to us. Yet, how often do I stop in the middle of what I think is an emergency or a catastrophe to ASK for it! Not often! Rarely ever! If I stopped when I was angry at my Hubs and asked God for wisdom on how to proceed, what would happen. 1. It would take time. That time would cause me to calm down, and approach the matter cooly, and to think it through more clearly. 2. I would be answered… not only would it cause me to cool off a little, at that point I would be able to HEAR what God was whispering to my heart about that situation.

In trying this out, this past weekend, I realized that once I took the time to ASK for wisdom to deal with a situation, by the time I had asked, I had also realized 9 times out of 10 that what I was upset about didn’t even really matter. It was just effecting me because I was tired, bored, upset because I drove four hours to see Hubs then he spent most of the weekend working and I was stuck in a house with no kids things with 3 bored kids.  If I hadn’t taken the time to ask for wisdom, most of the weekend would of been spent angry, frustrated, and even the time we had together would of been horrible! Instead, God softly spoke to my heart to take the time to relax, enjoy the kids I had with me, and spend time with Him. SO I got four days of playing games with my kids, tickling and playing with Putters, reading my books, spending time in Devotions and napping. I even got to visit some friends I haven’t seen in over a decade! It turned into a very pleasant break! When I almost turned it into a “what in the world am I even here for if you have to work, forget this, I am just going home, and then drive for hours to go do dishes and laundry” event!

So today’s challenge.. if a frustrating, maddening situation pops up, take the time to breathe and ask God for wisdom. Don’t say or do anything for 20-30 minutes, simply walk away from the problem and PRAY. See what happens!

Be Blessed.. Be Wise.. Be Excellent…

~Katie

About misadventuresofafamilyof8

I am a SAHM of 6 kids, and I homeschool, cloth diaper, wear my toddler, used to breastfeed, cook from scratch, not so crunchy mama. Hubs is a chef, and loves to cook. We go to church when we can, and I love to learn new things about how to be a better wife and mother.

Comments are closed.