That Still Small Voice Can Get Loud!!

Standard

So the past few day have been spent in an emotional uproar. My 19 yr old step daughter, who caused a lot of pain and heartache in our lives, and went totally off base last year, called asking to come home. She also informed us that she is pregnant, and not married. I was to go pick her up last night, but she missed her bus home. So she got here today. The bus stop is 1/2 an hour away. I fed the kids dinner and left them with my brother and drove to get her. My mind, feelings, emotions, in a HUGE tangle the size of Alaska! Ten minutes out of town this song comes on the radio

Immediately followed with a sermon from Chuck Swindoll about none other then the Prodigal Son…and so that still small voice that’s been whispering in my ear lately, with the books I was given on parenting tips, and more, got suddenly VERY LOUD!!

When I finally stopped to listen, I heard that “My daughter has cast her pearls among the swine and found out pig food doesn’t taste so good”. I heard that “You need to respond to her homecoming the same way the father in this story did, the same way that I am! This is My child returning home to you, she needs compassion and forgiveness just as you do. I Am mighty to save and I will because I love this child more then you could ever imagine.”

No, I don’t have a fatted calf to kill, but I do have hugs, and an ear to listen to her. We gave another young man a ride home and then I simply said, “So what’s going on with you?” And it all came out… In our talk on the way home, (where she actually talked to me!!) I found out she had been chewed up and spit out by a world she thought was all fun and games.. when she found out she was pregnant, she was given some really horrible advice by people who call themselves Christians, and was actually advised to abort this precious baby because God won’t love it because she isn’t married! I was so proud to hear her say that in all the haze etc, she knew better then that and it made her think, I really am not enjoying this life! I had it better before!  She left that place and moved into a half way house where she was able to get clean, and has remained clean for months now, and the people there were really Christians. They prayed and read the Bible and loved her.

We still have a long road to travel, with a lot of healing in store, but I can see there is a light at the end of the tunnel. And I only pray that this is all real in her.. that there really is a change, and this isn’t just a I need somewhere to go and your all I’ve got left. But time will tell… for now I will just take it one day at a time.. and pull in all the prayers we can, and love the fact that I am about to become the world’s youngest grandmother to a precious baby girl named Chyna Ann…

Be Blessed…

~Katie

About misadventuresofafamilyof8

I am a SAHM of 6 kids, and I homeschool, cloth diaper, wear my toddler, used to breastfeed, cook from scratch, not so crunchy mama. Hubs is a chef, and loves to cook. We go to church when we can, and I love to learn new things about how to be a better wife and mother.

5 responses

  1. Beautiful. God has spoken to you. I hope that this new beginning will, not only help her, but help you too! 🙂 We all need forgiveness. We all need compassion and God gives us that. I know how she felt when told she shouldn’t keep the baby, because I had someone tell me since I had no one else beside me to care for my daughter with me that I should terminate. I don’t want to jump up on a box right now about abortion since I could go on forever. But anyway. I hope that this turns out well for all of you. God Bless, good luck, and I’ll be praying.

    • Thanks Andrea…
      I could go on and on about abortion also… :o) It’s sad that this world believes a baby is so worthless, that their lives mean nothing if there are not enough people to love them.. if only one person is loving a child, then they deserve life. This is a tough area to write about, but I know that other parents are traveling the same road or will be someday.. and I want them to know that there is HOPE… there are options… and other choices..

      I have a friend now who was raped when she was 13. She became pregnant, and every one she knew advised her to abort, people in power even tried to legally force her! She fought for that baby, raised him, and married a wonderful Christian man he now calls dad when she was 19. They now have several other kids, and that boy is one of the brightest, loving, God fearing people I know, who has a heart for people that have never heard the Gospel. I believe one day we will hear about him changing lives in some far off country, while he serves God. My friend tells me that she would live that night all over again, because that pain was worth every second of her son’s life. It’s an amazing testimony that EVERY person has a purpose on this earth. And that every thing works to God’s purpose!

      ~Katie

  2. ((Hugs)) I’ve got tears in my eyes! It seems so long ago that you were sharing with me about her when I found out I was gonna be a grandma. Could it have really only have been a couple of months ago? God works in mysterious ways! Will pray things go smoothly and she has changed! I think you beat me on being the word’s youngest grandma! LOL I’m 35 and I believe you are still in your 20s right? 🙂

    • I remember that day Amanda, and remember thinking, this just may well be happening to me soon! LOL.. I am 31.. I keep meaning to ask you how it’s going with you? Have you gotten to see pictures yet of the baby.. when Val went in for an ultrasound their machine was broken and wouldn’t print out pictures, so I am hoping they will find a reason to do one here.. She is due Nov 1… when is your grand baby due?
      I am actually excited about the baby, sad she will be going through this without a husband to lean on, I know I could of never done it without Mike by my side. I know that someday, God will use all she’s been through for good.

  3. Wow! Your daughter’s story sounds a lot like mine 10 years ago… I was a very hard headed teen. Into drugs, alcohol and breaking every rule that was set. I got into a lot of trouble… Got pregnant at 17. Was told by everyone to abort because I was a worthless piece of trash that could never be a mother. It it wasn’t for the compassion of my mother and God speaking to her I would have. She was patient and kind and very understanding through God and her I kept my child. I changed all my ways and devoted my life to my child and God. I believe I was given my daughter to save my life. Without her I would not be who I am today. I am now married and raising 3 children. While I am not proud of the things I did I’m happy I listened to the Lord and opened my hardened heart to him. I guess what I’m trying to say is that I know what your daughter is going through… And you also, as I saw my mother go through my experience.