The End of a Great Thing….

Standard

When I had my emergency surgery a couple months ago, I was on some pretty heavy duty meds for about a week that were not breastfeeding safe. I wasn’t worried, we had gone for a week or two here and there with not breastfeeding and were able to get right back to it. This time though, not so much. Putter’s just wasn’t interested after that. I don’t know if the meds changed the flavor, or ?? but she just didn’t want to. After a few days she just stopped asking… except for the now and then, every few weeks, if she got hurt or was super tired she would bring it up. But of course by then there wasn’t much to get!

 

She asked yesterday, and after a few seconds of trying looked up at me said “Milk broke,” and headed to the fridge to get her sippy cup out… so I had to finally admit to myself…it’s the end of Great Thing… almost 23 months of breastfeeding… a record around here!

I am sad that it is over, but SO glad that I persevered through all the late night feedings, and sore cracked boo boos as Little Mama calls them, and gave my baby the best that I could. In Putter’s 23 months of life she has had ONE ear infection, one cold, and not a single other health issue. All my other kids were and ARE constantly sick, with ear infections, colds, severe allergies, pneumonia. asthma and more.  I wish I knew at the beginning what I know now! I wish, and probably always will, that I had done the same with all my kids.

Be Blessed…

~Katie

About misadventuresofafamilyof8

I am a SAHM of 6 kids, and I homeschool, cloth diaper, wear my toddler, used to breastfeed, cook from scratch, not so crunchy mama. Hubs is a chef, and loves to cook. We go to church when we can, and I love to learn new things about how to be a better wife and mother.

Comments are closed.