How Do I… Feed My Family Of 8 On $40 A Day #1

Standard

I was recently asked HOW I feed my family of 8 with $1000 a month on the face book page, and since I practically wrote a blog post about it there, I decided I may as well write one on here…When I was done writing, it came out to over 1300 words… so I will be breaking it up into a couple posts! The things I do for y’all 🙂

So $1000 a month. To some that may seem like A LOT… and actually this month it’s more like $1200 since Hubs is buying his own food in the Valley. So I got out my calculator, and if my late night calculations are correct, $1200 for a family of 8 comes out to about $150 per person for the month. WOW that is a scary number! Then I made it worse… I figured out how much I have to spend per person per day… $5. $5 per person per day to feed a family.. that number up there doesn’t look so big anymore does it? Granted that is $40 per day for our family. BUT that is three meals, two snacks and three-four times a week a dessert and includes coffee, coffee creamer,  and sugar for my commited coffee relationship, milk, juice, sodas once a week for the kids, daily for Hubs and now and then for me. We also buy our drinking water, because the water here tastes funny, and its a really old apartment building so I worry about lead. We go through 5 gallons every other day. I fill our five gallon jug for $1.75. Half of that is my coffee consumption. Shhh, don’t tell Hubs I drink that much coffee…

And if you think about it Rachel Ray can barely feed just HERSELF for that much a day!! Take away the $200 Hubs got this month and it turns to $125 per person, or $4.16 per person per day!  And no, we don’t eat beans and rice every day.. in fact we rarely do! Although we DO eat a lot of Mexican, Italian and Indian foods. They have a lot of flavor, are usually quick and easy to make, and are cheaper then most foods from other countries or even our own.

So how do I do it? First off  I use the website, http://www.menufortheweek.com. For a $30 six month membership (this comes out to about $1 per week! Well worth it just in the time it saves!) I am emailed weekly menus and shopping lists for 5-6 dinners, and at least one breakfast/brunch meal. It almost always includes a crock pot meal for busy days. On my shopping list I add things I will need for other meals, milk, eggs, yogurt, cereal, bread, peanut butter, jelly. Etc. In the five weeks now that I have been using this menu plan, not a single meal was disliked by my family. That alone saves money. Then a couple times a week we have leftovers for lunch and finish off anything that didn’t get eaten for dinner the last few days.

My kids are NOT allowed to be picky… I allow them each one  maybe two foods they REALLY dislike, such as brussel sprouts, and those they can opt out of eating, but everything else is not  up for debate. I do not make more then one meal at a time. If you don’t want to eat what is served  you can wait for the next meal. Look for the rest of this post tomorrow!

Be Blessed…

~Katie

About misadventuresofafamilyof8

I am a SAHM of 6 kids, and I homeschool, cloth diaper, wear my toddler, used to breastfeed, cook from scratch, not so crunchy mama. Hubs is a chef, and loves to cook. We go to church when we can, and I love to learn new things about how to be a better wife and mother.

3 responses

  1. I agree with the picky part. I have an 18 month old who used to LOVE veggies but now won’t eat them unless they are in something, such as a tater tot casserole or something. My first child. Is this normal? What should I do?

  2. I like the idea of the meal planning site but can you pick your meal “styles”. My hubby is kosher and cant eat pork and my 2 yr old is vegan due to a medical disorder, will they cater to this or everyone just the same meal plan? I like to do meatless meals a few times a week
    Bridgett

  3. Heather, at around 18 months, from what I am told, taste buds begin to change in children.. so it could simply be that your child’s taste buds are changing and therefore you really need to avoid sweet foods at this time to keep her/him from truly growing to dislike veggies..

    just keep offering veggies, in bright colors, quartered cherry tomatoes, (the yellow and orange ones are naturally sweeter, and are in season right now!) carrot sticks, or if your baby can’t chew items like this, then gently steamed veggies, in real butter with a little salt and pepper. My mother used to put a little bit of sugar on my Lima beans and my lettuce and tomatoes to get me to eat them and mayo on my steamed spinach… try different things.. even sweetening a veggie slightly, if they will eat it that way, is better then no veggie at all! :O) And keep hiding them whenever you can! :O) I have a 7 year old that says he HATES onions and garlic.. while I know that foods like onions and garlic promote healthy bacteria in his digestive system, so I puree them in the blender and he doesn’t even know they are in his food…while we don’t allow our kids to be picky, I know there are certain foods that I REALLY dislike, and so I try to give my kids the same freedom… it just takes me deciding if its really a dislike or disobedience. But if I know they are super beneficial foods like that, I will sneak them in when they aren’t looking..

    But at 18 months, I don’t think there is much else you can do to make him/her eat their veggies… I do know this is a normal age for testing boundaries, and that they are finally to the age where they KNOW they can! :O) So I would say just keep offering them, make a big deal out of the pretty colors and yummy flavors, but don’t get upset when your little one won’t eat them, as that shows them that they have control over you by not eating what you want them to, hide them in her/his food when you can and know your doing the best you can.. :O)

    Bridgett, I know there are sites that do allow different meal options such as vegan or kosher.. I don’t know the names.. but maybe a google search would help?