The Truth And All That Jazz….

Standard

Recently my sweet sister over at What Mama Wants wrote a post about honesty. Honesty is hard…. as a blogger it’s so much easier to just put out that you have a great life, your kids are all happy, your marriage is going great, your kids are well educated and fed super foods all day! Which to a point is the truth around here… but what I don’t talk about often is the seemingly constant bickering that goes on between kids, the kid that throws a tantrum because we are having oatmeal AGAIN – for the second time this month, and it’s the 14th.. yea we have it a lot! The fact that I was in the kitchen until after 10 pm. the last three nights in a row, doing dinner chores all by myself because I was so tired of fighting with my kids over chores I just sent them all to bed and did it myself.

Or the fact I have a Hubs, that works hard, but is a on again off again recovering alcoholic and when he’s home all he wants to do is sit and watch tv, and expects 6 kids to be quiet so he can do so. He rarely does anything with them, unless it involves a tv show. It’s so frustrating… they get so happy he’s home then all he does is say SHHH I am trying to watch this! My marriage is a blank page… there is just nothing there… we don’t argue…. we don’t talk… we never do anything together… except the occasional dinner out, or a trip to the grocery store kid free.  He watches T.V. I sit on the computer or read a book because there just doesn’t seem to be a connection anymore. When we do go do something together, it’s like there is no us anymore, and we can’t wait to get back home to go to our separate corners… I love my hubs and I know he loves me.. but marriage is HARD… especially when there are so many distractions, and doing nothing is SO much easier then trying to do something.

The fact that most days I feel like a maid, short order cook, laundress…. Is it really to much to ask for someone else to load the dishwasher properly, or switch the laundry over?!

The fact that we haven’t been to church in almost a year!

The fact that I don’t even bother separating clothes by color anymore… I just throw it all in,  because frankly, I don’t care if someones underwear comes out purple.

The fact that I post our meals all the time on facebook, and that is generally how we eat, but I still have a shelf in the freezer stocked with Stouffers for those days when I just give up.

The fact that I started this blog, just so I would have something that is MINE… I don’t allow my Hubs or kids to read it! Because it is MINE….

The fact that at 11 am this morning I realized Putter’s was STILL in her nighttime diaper… Oops… it was still dry though..Maybe she needs to drink more water?

The fact that Juice Box went outside to play the other day without telling anyone, and no one missed him for almost an hour!

I burned our meatloaf subs last night… I mean burned!! But made my kids eat them anyway.

The fact I was so upset over the kids bickering over the cat last night, I was actually at the door with it threatening to throw it outside with the dog who was banned to the backyard because she tried to eat the cat!

The fact I just caught Little Man asking the neighbor (who I get that funny, stay away from my kids! feeling from) for ice cream!

The fact that my bedroom looks like a tornado went through it, but I require my kids to have clean rooms before they come out for breakfast!

The fact I have a 19 year old daughter that has decided she is a lesbian, and it’s very hard, because her choice goes against everything I believe. And while it doesn’t hurt anyone outright, I know that she is going against GOD, I know that SHE knows she is going against God, and still chooses to do so, and that someday she will face the consequences of doing so! And that scares me…. … the Bible is very clear about this kind of behavior and it’s consequences, and I do not want any of my children to ever face those.

The fact that I drink a lot of coffee and not enough water… oh you already knew that!

The fact I have a tub of cotton candy hidden in my dressers and ding dongs in a kitchen cupboard, that my kids know nothing about… if I am honest with you, does that mean I still have to tell them?

The fact that I spend more time a day on the computer then i do cooking and cleaning!

So in order to help  my sister out… and to let her know she’s not alone…I also will be telling you all the truth about my crazy insane life… not just the funny crazy… but the tough, the hard, the difficult, the insanely crazy…. Hope your up for a ride!

Be Blessed…

~Katie

About misadventuresofafamilyof8

I am a SAHM of 6 kids, and I homeschool, cloth diaper, wear my toddler, used to breastfeed, cook from scratch, not so crunchy mama. Hubs is a chef, and loves to cook. We go to church when we can, and I love to learn new things about how to be a better wife and mother.

4 responses

  1. thank you for this! i just started following your blog i think today, and i definitely look forward to being a follower of a truthful blog. almost every blog i come across is glammed up, so this is quite refreshing as strange as that may sound.

    • Welcome Kayla! I felt the same way… reading other blogs almost always make me depressed… they all seem to have it all together, and so I just tried to make mine look the same… until I read my sister’s post… and wondered How many other bloggers are doing this too! So I decided to be honest with her.. :O) I don’t want to feel like I am the only one struggling, or make others feel that way!

  2. Thank you for your honesty. It is refreshing to know I am not the only one struggling as a mom or wife. It gets tiresome and wears thin when someone asks you how you are and I just smile and say ok, when I am not. Mostly I believe they just ask but not care or listen, and would probably scare them away if I was truly honest.

  3. i prefer honesty. whose life is perfect anyways?? those who claim it is are the ones whose private life is not….
    be proud, be honest, most people like realness!