How I Almost Fell For It….

Standard

“What is it,” you might ask.  For that, I have to rewind… and rewind … just a little. Years ago, I was home schooled for high school… My mom handed me a stack of books and said “Learn. If you need help let me know.” So I cracked open those books, and studied. I rarely needed help, but when I did, my mom was there to help me. I learned! It was easy!

Fast forward some to the point that I had kids, ready to start school, I had entered them in Head Start, and they thrived.  I had it all planned out and my days went smoothly. My oldest son had graduated, and I was homeschooling him, because I wanted to home school after Head Start. I would send my then 10 yr old step daughter off to the school just down the road, take my second son. Clown, and Little Mama to Head Start every day, and drop them off. Then camme home, clean up breakfast, home school Knight in the time I had before it was time to go pick up Clown and Little Mama from Head Start. The day went well… until the day, a few days before the end of the school year, when Clown’s teacher pulled me aside. She told me, “We had some concerns about Clown. So I had him tested for ADHD and he tested not only to have it, but such a radical case that I can tell you, they won’t let him be in a regular class at school unless he is medicated!”

“WHAT?!” To start with I was appalled that they could do such a test without parental knowledge… but apparently it is legal. Then to find out they could actually keep him from a normal class at school based on this unapproved test and I was ticked. At this point though I didn’t think there was much I could do about it. We finished the year, Knight finished Kindergarten at home and I prepared to do the same the next year, and just add Clown to our home school day, while continuing to send Little Mama to Head Start. Why I thought Head Start was so important, I really don’t know! About a month into the  next school year though, I had bruises covering my legs, and my arms were killing me from the fight it took to leave Little Mama there every day (she hated going without her brother, and I later found out that the teacher was being investigated for being too harsh with the kids!!) so I pulled her out and kept her at home too.  With them all at  home, plus a toddler sized Little Man, and new Juice Box added to the mix, I broke down and contacted an online Charter School. IT was a NIGHTMARE… I was up half the night cutting out and preparing things for the next school day. I would forget to enter the information for them into the computer at the end of the school day. Then when I had to mark two of my kids as unexcused absent because another had a field trip that didn’t coincide with the other two’s school work, I was done. I sent back their fancy, pain in the butt computer, and all their text books, and bought a ton of workbooks from the dollar store!

When we moved to a house just blocks away from the school we tried enrolling the oldest three Mucks. Our oldest daughter was already in public school. It was a nightmare… getting up super early to make healthy, allergen free lunches that I would find out were traded for allergy filled junk lunches, then dealing with the resulting hyperactivity and anger from those lunches, having a teacher tell me she couldn’t do anything about the lunch trading because there was no life threatening allergy, talking to my child’s teacher EVERY day only to find out at the parent teach conference that NONE of his homework the last month had been turned in, having Little Mama’s teacher tell me “Wow, she is smart for a home schooler!”, and more, so when we moved to Florence  we didn’t enroll them in the school there.

But it’s a struggle. Finding curriculum that is supposed to work for everyone, then discovering NO one likes it, not having the curriculum you need, because you can’t afford it. Not being able to afford the state required testing… children taking HOURS to do a subject that should take minutes… a Little Man throwing away the seeds needed for science… can’t find any pencils.. can’t find erasers… can’t find Clowns Math Book..again… and the list goes on and on….This is NOT easy!!

So I was tempted this year… I don’t have curriculum for the two younger boys. I don’t  have the money to get Knight and Little Mama the tests that are required by the end of this month. I was SOOOOO tempted…

By that shiny, pretty ad, I got in the mail from K12 curriculum… so tempted in fact, I enrolled my kids. So tempted I almost convinced hubs to give me $150 to order birth certificates so I could finish enrolling them… really? Where would $150 come from?? Why not use that for testing? Or Curriculum??? Because I.don’t.have.it! So I almost fell for it… almost…

This video woke me up!

And this this one!

I DON’T WANT my kids to become Romans…. I don’t want a Trojan horse in my house…. I have seen the village and I don’t want it raising my kids….

SO grab your self a cup of coffee, watch the videos and wake up with me!!

Be Blessed…

~Katie

About misadventuresofafamilyof8

I am a SAHM of 6 kids, and I homeschool, cloth diaper, wear my toddler, used to breastfeed, cook from scratch, not so crunchy mama. Hubs is a chef, and loves to cook. We go to church when we can, and I love to learn new things about how to be a better wife and mother.

One response

  1. Thank you for this post.

    Our oldest is 2 1/2 and I have already had people asking if I will be putting her in preschool this fall especially with our 3rd on the way. Apparently having 3 under 3 will be impossible.
    There is nothing in preschool that she is not already learning here in her home by her own parents. I also have no desire to have someone else teach my children or raising them.

    I hope someday that I will be able to figure out how homeschool all my children and love hearing how you are doing it all with 6 kids. It gives me ideas and how I can incorporate it into our lives even though we live in canada and the options are different here.